1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

"Long track" Tornado's

Discussion in 'General Chat' started by Zathrus, May 1, 2017.

1. Zathrus

Zathrus Vindicator Member

Hello all,

I have always been interested in weather of all types, hence my lightning shots etc. When I went to university.. long ago... I put almost all of my "elective credits" (these are credits you must earn that are not dictated by your degree but they encourage something that compliments your degree) into Meteorology. I have been an amateur meteorologists ever since. I have enjoyed observing and studying severe thunderstorms most of my life. This was initially sparked in my teenage years where I spent about 7 years in the Congo near the equator. There, the thunderstorms are legendary in lightning intensity. It is very common for lighting in strong thunderstorms there to have a distinct blue hue. They literally have blue lightning at times.

One beast of nature that has always fascinated me due to it's power, is the large EF3+ "long track" tornado. The amount of energy necessary to form and then sustain these powerful tornado's is enormous.

Long Track tornado's are defined as a tornado that remains in contact with the ground continuously for a minimum of 25 miles (40km).

I have to say, when I think about the frequency of long track tornado's today and compare it to what was taught in my university days as the frequency then (late 1978 thru 1981).... the frequency seems to be rising.